top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLottie Pike

La Cargadora de Flores: a poem inspired by Diego Rivera's painting 'The Flower Carrier'

Updated: May 14, 2020

La Cargadora de Flores

En el campo español el burro se arrastra a lo largo del polvoriento sendero

Por pueblos deshabitados

Agobiado por la carga extraña

Unida a su lomo.

Pero esto es México. Y aquí, yo soy el burro.

Él me hace trabajar.

En su uniforme agarrotado

En su palacio brillante

Él me reduce a un animal.

Para ellos, las flores son la belleza.

Son la virtud y son la pureza.

Pero para mí, son la supervivencia.

Son el sustento y son mi única esperanza.

Forzado a alejarme de la observación de su belleza

Esta cuerda alrededor de mi pecho me atrapa

Y sella mi destino.

Y Él, vestido en su uniforme agarrotado, me vigila desde su palacio brillante.

A mi alrededor, Él construye plantaciones

Y minas e infraestructuras de transporte;

Pero todavía, yo soy un burro.

¿Dónde está su humanidad?

Su humanidad

Abre la tierra seca y muerta.

Estamos en una nación rota.

La disparidad refuerza el nido alrededor de mi pecho.

¿Cómo está este mundo en el que vivimos?

Soy Atlas (yo, también, tengo siete hijas):

Mi mundo - nuestro mundo - depende de esta carga

Unida a mi lomo.

Veo a sus rostros pálidos

En estas flores.

Estos tallos son sus miembros.

Este néctar dulce es su aroma.

Estas flores son mis hijas.

Si no tengo flores, no tendré hijas.

Al que madruga

Dios le ayuda.

Pero mi Dios,

Lo que se viste en su uniforme agarrotado

Y vigila por su Creación desde su palacio brillante,

Me ridiculiza.

Y como el burro

Me arrastro,

Agobiada pero elevando la vista:

Rezando.




Translation:


In the Spanish countryside the donkey plods along the dusty road

Through deserted villages

Laden down by the foreign load

Attached to his back.

But this is Mexico. And here, I am the donkey.

He makes me work.

In his stiff uniform

In his shining palace

He reduces me to an animal.

To them, the flowers are beauty.

They are purity and they are chastity.

But to me they are survival.

They are sustenance and they are my only hope.

Forced away from the observation of their beauty

This rope around my breast traps me

And seals my fate.

And He, dressed in his stiff uniform, watches me from his shining palace.

Around me, He builds plantations

And mines and transportation infrastructure;

But still, I am a donkey.

Where is his humanity?

His humanity

Cracks open the dry, dead land.

We are in a broken nation.

The disparity tightens the knot around my breast.

What is this world in which we live?

I am Atlas (I, too, have seven daughters):

My world – our world – depends on this load

Strapped to my back.

I see their pale complexions

In these flowers.

These stems are their limbs.

This sweet nectar is their smell.

These flowers are my children.

If I have no flowers, I will have no children.

The early bird

Catches the worm.

But my God,

The one who dresses in his stiff uniform

And watches over his Creation from his shining palace

Mocks me.

And like the donkey

I plod on,

Laden down but looking up:

Praying.

27 views0 comments
bottom of page